Health Update (from my heart): My Story- Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis Hypothyroidism

causes-hypothyroidism

23c5bb4447e730569733fd40dd86cd4d

living-with-hashimoto-disease

Hi there my lovies!!! I do realize that I have really neglected both this blog, and my youtube channel, and I apologize, as I mentioned briefly in my last blog post 2 months ago, wow has it really been that long? I have been having some health issues. Well, I am finally ready to talk about it, so I am going to share in this post. I think it will help me with coming to terms with what is going on, and maybe help spread the awareness to others. I feel like even if I spread the word, even just a little, I could help others, so I am going to try my best to keep this, and future posts open, and honest as a sort of way of my expressions, and feelings regarding my health. I also would love any feedback / suggestions/ guidance/ support that others have, and very much welcome your comments, and communication with me. Okay, so I have to mention the irony in my being a butterfly lover, and the disease that I am now diagnosed with, who would have thought huh? I sure as heck wouldn’t have!!! 😦

I feel like I am learning so much through researching that honestly it is a bit overwhelming, but I know there is so much more to learn, and know that change will take time, and some getting used to. I think it’s a good idea to start from the beginning, because I think that’s always a good place to start, so I am going to go with that, thank you for reading, I truly appreciate each, and every one of you, thank you from theΒ bottom of my heart πŸ™‚

Alright, I can’t write this blog without a little scientific explanation, and reasoning, I have done so much research I feel like my head is going to explode, and there is so much more to know. Hashimoto’s thyroiditis or chronic lymphocytic thyroiditis is an autoimmune disease in which the thyroid gland is attacked by a variety of cell- and antibody-mediated immune processes, causing primary hypothyroidism. It was the first disease to be recognized as an autoimmune disease. In essence, my hypothyroidism is caused by Hashimoto’s disease. I know it doesn’t really make sense, but when you have hashimoto’s disease, you kind of have both, or there is a reason for your hypothyroidsm. The thyroid gland is part of your endocrine system, which produces hormones that coordinate many of your body’s activities. Yep, you read that correct, it affects EVERYTHING……great right? Your thyroid gland is pretty darn important, and plays a vital role in your body. If your thyroid is not functioning properly you may or may not even know it, until it gets so severe (like mine) you know something is wrong.

hypothyroidism

I am going to start with how I knew something was wrong. It all began about 8 months ago, wow writing that seems like a long time that I was dealing with it that’s for sure, it began with what I thought was depression, and anxiety, and just pure exhaustion on a daily basis, I was loosing tons of hair, my skin was dry, I was always freezing cold, overly puffy face, poor hearing, I had a hard time concentrating, I gained 10 pounds, I was depressed, had horrible heavy periods, my bowels were different, sorry TMI on those, trying to be honest here, I could go on, I had every symptom for the most part. I went to the doctor, feeling so fed up, and done with the way I was living for so many months, and we both decided that putting me on an anti depression medication would help, no other tests were done, and I really thought that the medication was the answer, boy was I ever wrong.

Let me just say that yes, I believe in western medicine, and although I do know that not everyone will agree with me, and everyone is entitled to their own beliefs, and opinions, including myself, I just wanted to put it out there, as I continue this journey, I truly hope to not offend anyone. Anyways, I was on the medication for 7 months, and it really wasn’t helping, even with an increase in dosage, I saw little to no results, or improvement. I continued, and I got to the point where enough was enough, and back to the doctor I went 2 months ago. I was so incredibly exhausted every day, emotionally drained, and depressed. I knew, deep in my heart that something was wrong. I was at my doctors appointment, and I mentioned, hey I am really, really tired everyday, like I can barely get through the day tired, and have some other symptoms that I would like to discuss with you as well, so I realized, and wanted tests to be ran to really try and figure out what was going on. That day a ton of blood tests were ran, I honestly thought to myself, everything will be fine, I’m healthy, I have nothing to worry about. After a few days, I got the test results, well sure enough my thyroid wasn’t functioning at optimal levels, my heart sunk, tears started running down my face, and honestly didn’t know what to feel, or what to think. I was glad to have answers, but sad knowing what the future holds as well. My diagnoses wasn’t confirmed, my doctor wanted to take additional tests to confirm it just in case, so more tests that day were done, good thing I don’t mind needles I tell ya. A day went by, and I tried not to think about it, or stress myself over it until I knew for sure. Well, my doctor confirmed that I had hypothyroidism, and my levels were very low sadly. I won’t get into the specific tests that were done, because well, they are personal, and if in the future I feel comfortable sharing then I definitely will, but for now, I will just keep those aspects of my health brief, but I am also going to mention that I have low levels of Vitamin D,Vitamin B, and Iron as well, and am now on supplements for those being so low to help regulate them to more normal levels. Later, I was told that I have Hashimoto’s, and that it is causing my hypothyroidism. I thought to myself, great it just keeps getting better…… I was so glad that my Mom went with me to that appointment that’s for sure, her support has continued to be amazing, thanks Mom (and Dad too) I am so lucky to have such a wonderful, supportive family that’s for sure.

The appointment that day felt like it lasted hours, seriously I was like a sponge absorbing so much information, and knowledge, I felt like I couldn’t get enough, yet it was so difficult to take all in, and know that this will be a new lifestyle that I will have to get used to. My doctor recommended several things as far as diet, and lifestyle changes, taking a daily medication, fitness, maintaining good sleep, stress level control, etc. I knew this was all going to be totally different for me, and to be honest, I still haven’t really focused on most of these, or truly worked hard on them since getting diagnosed. She was really pushing a paleo diet, ummm this girl can’t live without dairy, or bread, seriously I just can’t, but I am cutting back a lot, and eating better, but I have to remind myself that I’m not perfect, and changes take time, and to hang in there, all I can do is make the effort. (I need to be better about remembering those) Just taking the medication every day is not enough, I wish it was that easy, but over the past 2 months it is proving that the changes all need to happen, and be in place for me to get better, and maintain this disease, only I can choose to change, I know that. I have a follow up appointment in a couple weeks, I’m interested to see how my levels are doing, and what else can be done to maintain, I am also wanting to get a referral to an endocrinologist as well, for more information, etc. I really want to see my symptoms improve, especially because it’s the best time of the year outside here in Oregon right now, sun just makes me happy, and am so thankful for the wonderful kids in my life that I get to enjoy it with as well every day! I just want to be able to have enough energy to truly appreciate, and enjoy everything.

1f3ed6a18136119d3880351fb4110d00

I wanted to end this with thanking you for reading, and coming along with me on this journey, I know it will be good for me to write about it, I will try and post updates monthly if not bi- weekly to keep everyone updated, etc. Please feel free to share this post, and leave comments, I always respond to every comment posted. I am hoping to now finally be back in the blogging community, but just expanding my focus on not just beauty, and subscription boxes, etc, but throwing in some lifestyle, and adventure posts like this one as well, I am excited about this beautiful weather to come, I hope all of you are enjoying some sunshine (or snow) as well!! Thanks for your thoughts, and continued support. New blog posts are coming, so stay tuned! πŸ™‚

yauntitled

23 thoughts on “Health Update (from my heart): My Story- Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis Hypothyroidism

Leave a Reply

